Vegans are notorious for how passionate they are about their lifestyle, a passion which sometimes borders on being annoyingly overzealous. Even the ones who aren’t the “militant” stereotype portrayed by the media are still very knowledgeable about what they put into their bodies.
That’s why it’s so strange (and slightly hilarious) that one particular vegan didn’t even know that mayonnaise has egg whites in it!
An anonymous guy who works at Subway told this story.
“Yesterday I had a chick come in, she told me she wanted a Veggie Delight,” he began. “As I went to get the bread she asked me if I could change my gloves cause she was vegan and I had been handling meat. I did that, no problem, perfectly reasonable request. I get her breast, toast it and put all the veggies she wants on it, I start to wrap up her sandwich when she says, ‘Can I get some mayo?’”
This is where things went hilariously sideways.
The employee said to the vegan: “You know mayonnaise has eggs in it right?”
“THIS. GIRL. JUST. STOOD. THERE. SILENT,” he wrote. Then she said: “N-no it doesn’t, I get mayo every time, are you sure?”
After confirming that, yes, he was sure, the girl “stood there with such a distraught and defeated face. I had shattered this poor girl’s world.”
AND IT GETS BETTER. The employee asked again whether she wanted mayo on her sandwich, AND SHE SAID YES.
“So I gave her her mayo, wrapped her sandwich up and charged her for her sandwich, she was silent the whole time,” he said. On her way out, he called “Have a nice day!”
“She just looked at me, sighed, ‘yea, I’ll try’ and walked out. And that’s the story of how I taught a vegan that mayonnaise is, in fact, not vegan.”
Better late than never. FYI, mayonnaise is just eggs with oil, lemon, vinegar, and seasoning.